Confession

7 Feb

I am an addicted to diet soda. Yes, I realize that is a ridiculous statement.  Ridiculous, but still true. I have tried to quit drinking them many times over the years and I always end up crashing after a month or so and then I’m guzzling them again.  I worked for the American Beverage Association years ago and we had refrigerators full of whatever kind of soda, juice, energy drinks, tea, etc. that we wanted.   And so I started drinking them all day long.  Literally all day long.  That’s when my addiction started.  And from there on out I was drinking a soda everyday. Sometimes two. And sometimes more on the weekend. And in those days I may or may not have thrown rum in them on nights out.  So who knows how many I was throwing back those days.  It’s really pretty gross when you think about it.

Every so often I come across an article telling me how bad diet sodas are and how they are still making me fat even without the sugar of a regular soda. And then I think that maybe I won’t drink them anymore. But then I think, really?  It’s not like its heroin.  It’s not like I’m smoking a pack of cigarettes a day.  Can’t I have any vice?  And so I ignore it. Last week I read something in the Washington Post about it and I decided to think about it.  Whatever that means.  And then today I came across this in Jezebel: http://jezebel.com/5816114/your-diet-coke-problem-is-actually-a-problem

Hold the presses.  Now my lady blogs are telling me to stop?  This shit is real Whit.  Time to stop.  So I’m going to give it a try. Again.  The first few days are the worst.  You’d think I was giving up something much more serious. It makes me so cranky. Not to mention exhausted. I pretty much survive on a constant flow of caffeine.  Wish me luck.

I googled “No Sodas” and this is what popped up. God I hope I turn into a into a rapper/cook.  Look at all the baking soda I would ave instead!  And I bet I’d make some killer mix tapes.

WHAT?

 

 

 

5 Responses to “Confession”

  1. Chicken Nuggets and Elmo February 11, 2012 at 4:32 am #

    Ugh good luck! How’s it going? I’m actually giving them up right now too… Along with sugar. And processed food. Shoot me.

    • Mommy Needs A Pinot February 12, 2012 at 1:28 am #

      Ugh. Poor thing! I need to do that too…but uh….so. Soda. Good. I mean, in the sense that I haven’t had any. But I have been exhausted all week. I think I really am addicted to them. And cranky to boot. How is it going for you?

      • Chicken Nuggets and Elmo February 12, 2012 at 3:06 am #

        Today was day one doing a 3 day detox (Kaeng Raeng)… Which consists of 3 smoothies a day and lots of water and a raw vegan diet (basically raw fruits and vegetables). It went ok today, but I also worked out this morning and I am really feeakin tired and achy and I have a headache… Nothing like taking a running leap into it. I’m sure most of my achy-ness has to do with the exercise…I worked out harder today than I have in 2 months. So I am sooo going to bed now!

      • Mommy Needs A Pinot February 13, 2012 at 4:56 pm #

        Wow! Good for you. That sounds intense.

      • Chicken Nuggets and Elmo February 13, 2012 at 9:37 pm #

        you know what? It hasn’t been, not really. I only have one more smoothie to go and I feel pretty good… the smoothies are VERY filling… I felt really good yesterday, and I felt good today at work. I’m actually kind of afraid to go back to eating normal food!

Leave a Reply

