Florida Freak-out

9 Jan

In two weeks I head to Florida for a conference for work.  Alone.  No husband.  No child. I am a little excited, but I’m also starting to freak out. I made the mistake of trying to tell Ava about it thinking it would be better for her to know than be confused when I’m gone.  But she understood immediately and was pissed and told me I could not go.  “No, you stay with me.” I’ll be gone for four nights and my poor husband is really in for it (chuckle.) He does really well with her, but she is still a momma’s girl.  She wants to be with me every possible second. If it weren’t for having my dog follow me into the bathroom for the past ten years or so, I would probably be disappointed at having company every time I go in.  I can’t really remember the last time I was in a restroom alone outside of work now that I think of it.  But women travel in pairs anyway, right?  I know she’s really going to miss me and the guilt is really setting in already. Fortunately my schedule is fairly packed, so I’ll be busy enough to be distracted most of the time. Although I did manage to leave a few hours free one afternoon to hit the beach is the weather agrees.  Why not take advantage of the location? I have a friend that recently moved down there that I hope to have dinner with, but otherwise I don’t know what I’m going to do with myself in the evenings. I’m keeping my fingers crossed that I’m paired up with some fun people and have someone to explore with.

How do women travel for work like this all the time without freaking out? Am I abnormally attached to my child?  Any tips to keep my freak-out at bay would be much appreciated.

2 Responses to “Florida Freak-out”

  1. LittleMissVix January 9, 2012 at 5:03 pm #

    You’ll be fine, enjoy it!

  2. takingcandyfromababy February 20, 2012 at 5:36 am #

    I would freak out, too. IN fact, I have freaked out before. There are no predictions of decreased freaking out in the future either. That being said, a glass of wine makes almost everything better…I recommend drinking one 😉

Leave a Reply

