Pop the bolly, darling.

7 Jan

I’m on countdown.  Ab-fab countdown. These are my favorite ladies ever. And they are back with three new episodes starting Sunday.

I pretty much spent my adolescence watching them.  With my parents no less. My dad is a British comedy aficionado. This probably has something to do with the fact that I have always been so into my british heritage. My husband calls me a royalist.  But let’s face it fellow Americans, the brits just do humor better than we do.  I’m not saying we aren’t funny because there are plenty of laughs on this end as well, but we are a different kind of funny.  More slapstick and generally much more obvious.  The brits tend to be more subtle and pull off sarcasm better than we do.  There is the misconception that Americans don’t understand the irony used in British humor, but that  I have to disagree with.  We’re not idiots, we just don’t see the need to use it as often. But I digress….

AB-Fab people. How I’ve missed you Patsy and Edina.  And you Saffy darling. And you too Bubble! My friend and I tried to pull off Eddy and Patsy for Halloween for years, but we never quite got there. For those of you who have never seen it, I would suggest finding some of the of the older episodes before diving into the new ones.  Here’s the general idea:

Edina (Eddy) runs her own PR firm, and Patsy holds a  position at a top British fashion magazine that seemingly carries little to no responsibility.  The two women use their considerable financial resources to indulge in a life revolving around alcohol, recreational drugs, and chasing after the latest fads in an attempt to maintain their youth and recapture their glory days as mods in swinging London.  Patsy generally runs the show and functions as both codependent and enabler to Eddy. Their lifestyle inevitably leads to a variety of personal crises, which are inevitably taken care of by Eddy’s poor young daughter, Saffron. Poor Saffy is constantly abused by her mother and Patsy, leaving her hilariously bitter and cynical, although she continues to care for her mother.

Patsy is my favorite.  Her drug and alcohol abuse and promiscuity far eclipse Edina’s comparatively mild self-destructive behavior, making her far more ridiculous to watch.

A taste:

Pretty sure my husband is going to find something else to do Sunday night.

4 Responses to “Pop the bolly, darling.”

  1. charlywalker January 7, 2012 at 7:28 pm #

    OMG! Ab-Fab is my FAV!!

    Thanks for the post!!

    • Renee Mason January 7, 2012 at 9:08 pm #

      See, I never suspected you were a closet AB FAB fan also. This should be great fun!

  2. Renee Mason January 7, 2012 at 9:07 pm #

    I’m so glad you let us know this; somehow I missed this event entirely, probably because I live in the hinterlands. What channel is it on? I CAN’T WAIT!

    • Mommy Needs A Pinot January 8, 2012 at 1:21 pm #

      Yes! Love, love, love. We’ve got it on the LOGO channel up here. And I think you can watch it online at BBC online.

Leave a Reply

