Winter Is Coming

24 Nov

No, I’m not complaining about the cold again, I ‘m talking about my current obsession with Game of Thrones.  This series is actually called A Song of Ice and Fire, but people recognize Game of Thrones because it’s on tv.  The books have somewhat taken over my life. My husband and I nerd out talking about them all the time. He has just finished the third book and I’m trailing a few hundred pages behind him. He has been forced into silence until I catch up.  Each book is 1000 + pages so the series is a bit of a commitment.  But I’ve always been committed to being a nerd, so no problem here.  And now that Harry Potter is done I have a replacement.  Sort of.  No, that’s not true, nothing will ever replace Harry Potter, but I digress.

There are so many frustrations I want to voice about the third book (A Storm of Swords) but I don’t to ruin anything for anyone. I had a friend ruin part of this book for me (YOU KNOW WHO YOU ARE) and I was less than pleased when it turned out to be true. But if you have some time do read this series.  I have not been able to put them down.  I’m so invested in the characters (although that’s not necessarily a good thing.)

Also, I just want to throw out that fantasy readers get a bum rap.  They’re all supposed to be fat dudes with greasy hair that spend too much time playing World or Warcraft and not enough time showering.  But what’s wrong with a little magic I say?  I will happily school any of you in Lord of the Rings trivia (and then just as happily take a shower mind you) any day.  So if you have a little time to spare, I highly recommend you pick up these books.  And for now I leave you with this.

Note:  I realize that posting a picture of the author does nothing to help my cause regarding fantasy readers.

 

3 Responses to “Winter Is Coming”

  1. beans8604 November 24, 2011 at 1:52 am #

    Oh my goodness I know how you feel. Much like Harry potter when she started bumping people off, and les mis. By the 3rd book the turn of every page is stressful. It is well written though, originally I hated Sansa and as she grew I began to like her, I am in Dance of Dragons at this point though and I am tying not to get too attached to anyone.

  2. Mommy Needs A Pinot November 24, 2011 at 2:50 am #

    I feel the same way about Sansa. And even the Hound. I am almost afraid to start Feast of Crows, but I’m too invested now to turn back.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. George R. R. Martin might be killing me « Mommy Needs A Pinot - January 30, 2012

    […] R. R. Martin’s “A Song of Ice and Fire Series. I have previously grumbled about this:http://wp.me/pROJ9-kQ  This book was an intense 1000 pages. They are all intense, but this was  a different sort of […]

Leave a Reply

