Secret Santa

17 Nov

It’s that time of year again and I’ve been searching high and low for gifts for this year’s secret santa with the girls.  Have you ever gotten a crappy secret santa gift?  I think we all have.  I once worked in an office that was pretty terrible. So every year I try to be a little creative.  Why waste your money on something that no one wants? We generally have a no gift-card rule.  Gift cards aren’t any fun anyway.  I just think its nicer if you put a little thought into it.  Here are some cute gifts I’ve found for $30 or less.  I may or may not have purchased one of these bad boys already.

I love these guys and they are only $10.  Head to the grocery store and grab the cookie ingredients, throw it all in a cute bag and you’ve got a creative (and usable) gift.

http://www.iloveuma.com/ninjabreadmencookiecutters.aspx

Sephora is kind of a no-brainer for the ladies. As is nail polish. This set is $28 and perfect for the holidays.

http://www.sephora.com/browse/product.jhtml?id=P299437&categoryId=C17604&shouldPaginate=true

As much as it pains me to link to an Urban Outfitters gift (see here for clarification: http://wp.me/pROJ9-7R  ) but these are really cute.  It’s $4 over the limit, but I feel like the $4 might be worth making someone happy.

I love these guys.  $29 and VivaTerra is all about green living.  What’s not to like?

http://www.vivaterra.com/gifts-1/hostess/owl-mugs.html

I have one of these at home, although this one is a bit nicer than mine.  These are great at keeping your necklaces untangled.  $29

http://www.westelm.com/products/cast-metal-jewelry-tree-c381/?pkey=cgifts-50-under

Cable knit hat from the Gap.  Cute, yet practical for $30.

http://www.gap.com/browse/product.do?pid=863043022&tid=goaff3117708&ap=2&siteID=goafcid150

7 Responses to “Secret Santa”

  1. Chicken Nuggets and Elmo November 17, 2011 at 5:25 pm #

    I purchased my office secret santa gift a few months ago, because I saw this and couldn’t resist. What can I say, I’m a 10-old-boy (nothing against 10-year-old boys):

    http://www.fredflare.com/halloween/Doody-Head-Gaming-Set/

  2. Mommy Needs A Pinot November 17, 2011 at 6:36 pm #

    Hilarious! Also, I’ve never seen this site before – thanks!

  3. adayinthelifeofamiddleagewoman November 17, 2011 at 8:03 pm #

    Worst time of year with having to think of gifts and stuff! Grrr.
    At the risk of sounding like a total ‘goody-two-shoes’, which I’m totally not, a pretty fast growing ‘fad’ that I’ve seen is promoting the whole “buy local” thing. So while ‘gift certificates” are not encouraged, maybe that encouragement wouldn’t be there if the certificates were to small businesses: massage therapists, landscapers, mom/pop restaurants…that sort of thing.
    The Doody-Head-Gaming set is pretty awesome though. 😉

  4. olletron November 18, 2011 at 10:03 am #

    I literally gasped when I saw those owls. I love owls :>

    • Mommy Needs A Pinot November 20, 2011 at 1:35 am #

      I love owls too. My husband asked me not to bring anymore home because it was starting to look like his grandmother’s house. Oops.

Leave a Reply

