I’m scared, Idaho.

10 Nov

No offense to any Idahoians, but your state was not exactly on my must see list to begin with. But yesterday I saw the link to the Idaho Meth Project and now I’m just flat out afraid of you.  Has anyone else seen these videos? My friend passed it along to me yesterday and then I heard it was on dlisted so it must be making the rounds. But here’s one in case you haven’t come across them yet.  It isn’t pretty.

 

So after scaring myself with these I decided to dig a little deeper and checked out the Meth Project website and it is equally scary.  It turns out Idaho isn’t the only state circling the ads.  Its also Arizona, Colorado, Georgia, Hawaii, Illinois, Montana and Wyoming.   If the goal here was to scare people away from trying meth they’ve certainly succeeded with  me (you know, because I think about being a meth head all the time.)  But they’ve also successfully scared me from visiting any of their states any time soon.  A tourism killer if I’ve ever seen one.

http://www.methproject.org/about/

I sort of feel like I should be apologizing to you for this post.  Sorry ya’ll.


 

 

2 Responses to “I’m scared, Idaho.”

  1. adamsdaughter November 15, 2011 at 3:02 am #

    That’s a very intense commercial. If you are curious about learning more about the spreading epidemic of meth, you might want to read Methland: The Death and Life of a Small American Town. It’s an informational book that talks about meth’s deep hold on small towns in the Midwest. The main focus of the story is Oelwein, Iowa, which is about an hour and a half outside of the city I grew up in. Crazy stuff!

  2. Mommy Needs A Pinot November 15, 2011 at 3:44 pm #

    Thanks! Although after these I may need to take a break and just be content with my weekly dose of Breaking Bad.

Leave a Reply

