Yoooooooo Gabba Gabba!

8 Nov

Let’s face it.  Kids shows can be, well, annoying.  Ava used to watch the Wiggles, but I put my foot down before she got too attached.  I’m sorry, but those guys give me the creeps.  She also loves Elmo, like every other kid in the world.  And I’m all for Sesame Street.  I think I half learned to read from it myself.  But Elmo’s voice wears down my nerves after awhile.  My mother continues to buy talking Elmo toys for Ava because she thinks getting on my nerves is hilarious. Thanks mom.  That’s not dysfunctinal at all. But Ava’s favorite show is Yo Gabba Gabba.  And its kind of my favorite show too.  Yes, it can still be annoying.  One of the characters has a voice that tears right through my heart.  But the lessons are there and it keeps her entertained so I can get dinner made at night and its the only show out there that has some remnants of the shows that I watched as a kid.  The cool thing about the show is that is was not created by network execs. It was created by Christian Jacobs (the lead singer of the Aquabats) and one of his childhood friends, Scott Schultz. They had no experience in tv, they were just two dads and friends that shared a mutual disappointment in kid’s tv. They both wanted to design a kid’s show that was entertaining while featuring real artists and real performers.  Mark Mothersbaugh of Devo fame has a regular segment on the show.  At this point he may be better known for scoring the music of all of Wes Anderson’s feature films. Or maybe that’s just me.  The music on the show is awesome.  Seriously, awesome.  And I can dance around like an idiot all I want to and its ok.
One of my favorite episodes is the Happy episode, mainly because of this video:

That guy is the geekiest guy of all time, but he sure makes me cheery.   My all time favorite video on the show:

 

My apologies on the quality of the video, but its the best I could find.  I love The Roots.

7 Responses to “Yoooooooo Gabba Gabba!”

  1. Vicci November 8, 2011 at 4:30 pm #

    I completely know what you mean. My son was into all of those shows but has since graduated to the big boy cartoons like Batman, The Avengers and Spiderman. And THANK GOD my daughter likes the cartoons more so than the baby shows. I had to watch and listen to those three years in a row and to have to do it again for another year or two? Can we say ‘Hell-To-The-No!’.

    • Mommy Needs A Pinot November 8, 2011 at 6:49 pm #

      You know, I want a number two in the near future, but I don’t know if I can do the shows a second time! I totally didn’t think about that.

  2. The Weekly Argus November 9, 2011 at 12:51 am #

    There is nothing cute about grown men singing kid’s songs. In fact, it’s creepy. Why are four and five year old’s so obsessed with being serenaded by 35 year old men?

  3. TJ Willard November 10, 2011 at 2:32 pm #

    Good for you for being able to stomach the Wiggles … I just CAN’T do it!!! There are a couple more on my list as well … the WotWots, Dora, and Wobaloo (just to name a few). MJ latched on to In The Night Garden – so our house has been taken over by Iggle-Piggles and Makka-Pakkas (who knew that they had books AND movies AND figurines AND plush dolls). There are actually a couple I find myself watching too – the Cat in the Hat (maybe b/c of Martin Short), Max & Ruby, and Toopy & Binoe
    With my second one here I am REALLY thinking about being more careful as to what she gets subjected to … in short I think we’re going to subscribe to Teletoon Retro 🙂

    http://www.mommysmomments.wordpress.com

    • Mommy Needs A Pinot November 10, 2011 at 2:50 pm #

      Good thinking! Can I add dirtgirl world to the unbearable list? That show definitely creeps me out. I actually haven’t seen In The Night Garden yet. I think I’ll have to check it out.

      • TJ Willard November 10, 2011 at 3:08 pm #

        I cannot let you do it – save yourself!!! Or at the VERY least ensure that there are no little eyes around …

Leave a Reply

