My beautiful Mommy

22 Mar

I’m having a hard time wrapping my head around this.  Is it me, or is our society surpassing ridiculous?

http://www.mybeautifulmommy.com/

We all have our issues with body image.  God knows I have mine. They were passed down from my mother, who got hers from my grandmother.  Looking back, I’m not sure who was worse between the two of them.  To this day my mother will ask if she looks ok 47,000 times before leaving the house and it was inevitable that some of her behaviors would rub off.  But I am not a plastic surgery fan.  I can understand it to a certain extent.  I obviously have no issue with correctional surgeries after accidents, or reconstructive surgery after mastectomies or defects that may be psychologically debilitating.  But surgeries just for the sake of being admired by others is dangerous business.  Most people are looking for a quick fix for emotional issues.  I’m fairly certain therapy is cheaper. Plus, its addicting.  Don’t you people watch tv?  Perhaps I watch too many Real Housewife shows, but it grosses me out.  The plastic faces and huge lips are frightening.  Is that what everyone is going to look like in our future?  Is Joan Rivers the future role model for women?

I’m not judging over here.  To each his own.  And I’m certainly not one to ever make decisions for anyone else.  But I still don’t like it.  “Honey, mommy’s not sick, she just hated her face, so she had to get it fixed.”  If you want to look like this, please be my guest:

http://wp.me/pROJ9-bt

I will still be friends with you.  I think.

2 Responses to “My beautiful Mommy”

  1. Renee Mason March 23, 2011 at 8:11 pm #

    You’re killing me with the Steven Tyler bit. Of course, you are absolutely right; his face is a total train wreck on botox, but yet…I don’t know what it is, but I can’t look away when he’s on the Idol screen, in kindd of a good way!!!

Leave a Reply

