Can you tell me how to get, How to get to Sesame Street?

2 Aug

Who knew technology is booming in Sesame Street?

I work for a techie company and even if it isn’t exactly my thing, I must say I’m pretty on top of when new things are out or are on the horizon. I like having the latest cell phones and I like being able to use everything even if I don’t own them. But something funny happened the other day. It was a Saturday morning I just couldn’t get myself going. So after getting my little one up and changed, I plopped her in her activity center with her snack and turned on Sesame Street. I try not to expose her to too much television, but I just needed a few minutes to wash my face and get my caffeine. A caffeinated mom is much better than one trudging through the morning, trust me.  And its Sesame Street for God’s sake.  So I pull myself together and go and sit next to her and look up to see Oscar the Grouch digging for something. A moment later he pops up with his Blackberry. Yes, his blackberry. Is this what the world has come to? As much as I love technology, I just cannot make myself like this.  I am not buying my child a blackberry.  And she’s not playing on a computer all day.  I just read that 31% of kids under the age of 3 are using computers.  I want to play barbies, leggos and catch.  I guess I need to train myself too.  I don’t leave the room without my phone these days.  What if I miss an important Jersey  Shore cast update?  I’m horrible.  I guess its time to practice what I preach.  But its going to be a long road.

Shame on you Oscar the Grouch!

One Response to “Can you tell me how to get, How to get to Sesame Street?”

  1. meggitymegs August 9, 2010 at 9:16 pm #

    Totally! It is making an entire generation (actually, maybe not the first) perpetually impatient. The other day I was entertaining the kids of some of our company’s clients — ages 8ish and 10ish. I was trying to pull up a movie for them to watch on Netflix, it was buffering, and admittedly our office wireless is not the fastest. And they were all, “THIS IS SOOOOOOO BORING!” and “THIS IS TAKING FOREVER!” I said, “Let’s practice being patient.” They looked at me like they’d never heard that word before (maybe they hadn’t) but they did shut up. Sigh. When I was a kid, I would have been in the waiting room alone, sitting quietly under threat of thrashing once we got home.

Leave a Reply

