Archive | 2:21 pm

A Serious Moment

9 Jul

Yesterday I heard from an old friend and had a little catch up session.  So today I’m feeling reminiscent.  Someone once said to me, “You are the girl Tom Petty wrote songs about.”  It was the single greatest compliment I have ever received.  In the grand scheme of things, this person was only in my life for a brief period of time, but he had a huge impact on me.  I don’t know how to describe being around him without being completely cheesy, so I’ll just do it.  Being with him felt like being in a movie.  I could almost feel the soundtrack playing along with us.  He was a complete disaster, a true vision of the starving artist.  But he listened.  Like REALLY listened. He was that person that really “got me.”  I think he knew my life story in about five minutes.  When he asked, you answered.  You didn’t even hesitate.  His responses were only a sentence, maybe two.  And it was enough.  And then poof, he was gone, and life went on.  I’m not even sure how it happened.  That time just seemed to stop.  He was always the person that wouldn’t be there at the end of the movie.  He wasn’t meant to be my Lloyd Dobbler.  It took me a few more years to find that.  But sometimes when I’m down I think back to that Tom Petty day, to that moment and I’m thankful that this person came into my life, a fleeting moment though it was.

Do you have a “moment?”  Tell me about it.  I love this crap.